BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix

Mura Masa Shares Debut BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix

Mura Masa Essential Mix

Mura Masa has graced Pete Tong and the rest of BBC Radio 1 with his debut Essential Mix. It is a great honor to be called upon for the legendary two-hour radio slot that has hosted some of the greatest electronic acts from Daft Punk to Justice to Nero and everywhere in between. Mura Masa has used his time on the essential mix to playout artists such as Jamie XX, Four Tet, Flying Lotus, Vince Staples, Migos and many more, to create an incredibly experimental debut.

Mura Masa has been unloading content on a consistent basis and now we’re in crunch time with only four days remaining until the unveiling of his album.

July 14th is the release date for his self-titled album. Until then, he has left you plenty of content to stay occupied. Enjoy!

Listen Here


Perfume Genius – Otherside
Alice Coltrane – Wisdom Eye
Thom Yorke – Black Swan
Aphex Twin – 28 Organ
James Blake – Sparing The Horses
Lil Silva – 606
Mura Masa – Wave
Steve Poindexter – Computer Madness
Vegyn – Phone Phoneys
Tirzah & Micachu – I’m Not Dancing
Fatal Walima – War (Douster Remix)
Kingdom – Stalker Ha
Champion – Chrome
Four Tet – Lion (Jamie xx remix)
Moodymann – Why Do U Feel?
Mura Masa – Who Is It Gonna Be
Dauwd – Whats There
Jamie xx – Gosh
Mura Masa – SOLE M8S
Sully – It’s Your Love
Wookie – Down On Me
Joy Orbison – Sicko Cell
DJ Lil’ Tal – Tom Tom Club
Wham! – I’m Your Man
Flying Lotus – Dead Man’s Tetris (feat. Captain Murphy & Snoop Dogg)
DJ Rashad – Freakin Me On The Flo
RP Boo – Bang’n On King Dr.
Playboi Carti – Magnolia
Mura Masa (feat. A$AP Rocky) – Love$ick (Mumdance Remix)
MF DOOM – Accordian
Vince Staples – War Ready
NAO – Trophy
Bok Bok, Sweyn J & Flirta D – Unlimited
Migos – Bad And Boujee (Vegyn Remix)

Daft Punk’s First Essential Mix On BBC Turns 20 : Listen Here

daft punk

It's officially been 20 years since Daft Punk make their Essential Mix debut with Pete Tong on BBC Radio 1. The iconic French electronic duo had just released their first album, Homework, only a few months prior to this mix.

This LP pretty much launched them into the spotlight with tracks like "Da Funk", "Around The World" and "Burnin". The rest was history. Daft Punk's introductory Essential Mix features tracks like "Funk Phenomena" from Armand Van Helden, songs of their own like "Teacher" and "Oh Yeah", and they even slipped in Martin Luther King Jr.'s "I Have A Dream" speech. Stream the two-hour mix below in celebration of it now being two decades since their Essential Mix debut! Enjoy!

Daft Punk - Essential Mix


01. Daft Punk – ‘Wdpk Essential Intro’
02. Paul Johnson – ‘Summer Heat’
03. Armand Van Helden – ‘Funk Phenomena (Dope Mix)’
04. Czr – ‘Chicago Southside’
05. Unknown – ‘Git Down Saturday’
06. Remix Delux #1 – ‘Dee’s Knots’
07. Parris Mitchell – ‘Ghetto Shout Out’
08. Daft Punk – ‘Teachers’
09. Martin Luther King – ‘I Have A Dream’
10. The Godson EP – ‘Drum Patterns & Memories’
11. Jammin Gerald – ‘Get The Ho ’94’
12. Dj Attack – ‘Da Way U Work’
13. Thomas Bangalter – ‘Spinal Beats’
14. Thomas Bangalter – ‘Spinal Scratch’
15. Tha West Siders – ‘Waxscratch Trax’
16. Fantom – ‘Faithfull (Prassay Mix)’
17. Fantom – ‘Faithfull (Original Mix)’
18. Fantom – ‘Faithfull (Da Cracy Mix)’
19. I:cube – ‘Disco Cubizm (Daft Punk Mix)’
20. Daft Punk – ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll’
21. Dj Hyperactive – ‘Chicago’
22. Daft Punk – ‘Oh Yeah’
23. Cajmere – ‘Only 4 U’
24. Trankilou – ‘Champagne’
25. Unknown – ‘And Da Beat Goes On’
26. Dj Funk & Gerald – ‘Hold Up’
27. Ween – ‘Freedom Of ’76’
28. Zdar + Boombass – ‘Foxy Lady’
29. Gusto – ‘Disco’s Revenge’
30. Dj Deeon – ‘Deeon Doez Disco’
31. Sweet – ‘Somebody’s Watching’
32. Da Mongoloids – ‘Spark Da Meth’
33. Roller Rink 2000 – ‘Shining’
34. Roy Davis Jr. – ‘Gabrielle’
35. Robert J. Hairston – ‘Preacher Man’
36. Daft Punk – ‘Around The World (Motorbass Mix)’
37. Kenny Dixon Jr. – ‘U Can Dance If You Want 2’

Listen To Tchami's Massive Two Hour Essential Mix Debut

tchami press shot 2

It's been an exciting year for Tchami who, after releasing his Afterlife EP at the tail-end of 2015, boarded the Pardon My French U.S. tour alongside DJ Snake and others, in addition to releasing multiple singles -- "Siaw" and "Prophecy" with Malaa. It's also been full steam ahead for his CONFESSION imprint which has bred a handful of talented up-and-comers such as Atica and Angelz.

The DJ, producer and label head now marks a new milestone in his career with his BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix debut. The coveted two-hour slot, hosted every Saturday by Pete Tong, is known for solely premiering the best acts in dance and electronic music. Previous artists to earn their slot on the show include Skrillex, Porter Robinson and DJ Snake.

Tchami's mix taps into groovy house jams like Dombresky's "Utopia" and Shift K3Y's "Jumpstart" collaboration with DJ Zinc. Whether you're into deep house, future house or anything that brings to the dance floor, Tchami has you covered. Stream his Essential Mix debut below and enjoy!

Tchami BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix | Stream Only 


tchami essential mix


01 Dombresky – Utopia
02 Angelz – Devils
03 Tchami – SIAW
04 AC Slater – Psycho
05 Disclosure – When A Fire Starts To Burn (Shapeless & Golden Leaf Remix)
06 Taiki Nulight – Void
07 Jax Jones – House Work (feat. Mike Dunn & MNEK)
08 AC Slater & Taiki Nulight
09 Fearz – Dipset
10 Shift K3Y & DJ Zinc – Jumpstart
11 Moksi – What I Like
12 BROHUG – Bulldozer
13 BELLECOUR – Fonky Beat
14 Low Steppa – The Harlem Thing
15 Kyle Watson – The Cone
16 Dustycloud – Sometimes
17 Amtrac – Hold On
18 Hackney Polo Club – Babylon Shall Fall
19 Dad Mouth – Swaggerback
20 Mr. Oizo – Flat Beat
21 Tchami & AC Slater – Missing You (feat. Kaleem Taylor)
22 Tchami – Afterlife (Alesia Edit)
23 James Brown – Mind Power
24 Aden – Whip (Jimmy Edgar Remix)
25 Bodhi – Brawd
26 Tchami & Malaa – Prophecy
27 Martin Ikin & Low Steppa – About Time (feat. Elisabeth Troy)
28 Maya Janes Cole – Not Listening
29 Duke Dumont – I Got U (Jonas Rathsman Remix)
30 Destiny’s Child – Say My Name (Cyril Hahn Remix)
31 Dusky – Yoohoo
32 Tchami – Untrue
33 Roger Sanchez – Morning Prayer (Franky Rizardo Remix)
34 Robot Love – Numbers Station
35 Shadow Child & Doorly – Piano Weapon (Instrumental Mix)
36 Jodie Abacus – Good Feeling (KDA Remix)
37 Metro Area – Miura
38 Claude VonStroke – The Rain Break
39 Crookers – A Place In My Heart (feat. Kym Mazelle)
40 Osunlade – Envision (Chocolate Puma Remix)

Who We Are is all about making it easier for you to discover sick new music that you've never heard before. We work with musicians and record labels from all over the world to showcase a variety of the freshest electronic, hip-hop, indie, and alternative music to a global following that is comprised of millions of music lovers in over 110 countries. So, make yourself at home while enjoying countless amazing musicians from a variety of genres and let the sick sounds fill your ears! Read more about our new site.

Just the Tip

Get tipped off of exclusive news, premieres, free downloads and exclusive show announcements (only the good shit)


Submit a Song

Want to get your song on TSIS? Click the button below and follow the instructions in the form

Popular This Week

Follow Us