Big Wild


Big Wild Links With Hundred Waters For Mystical Track "Show Me" Via Foreign Family Collective

Big Wild Hundred Waters

Big Wild is back yet again with his track “Show Me” alongside rising OWSLA band Hundred Waters. The track was originally released a couple years ago as an unofficial remix of the Hundred Waters original, and now it’s being re-released as a Big Wild original with a Hundred Waters feature. 

Released via ODESZA’s Foreign Family, this new track beautifully utilizes Hundred Waters’ dreamy vocals, building gentle chords and calming melodies around it. We heard Skrillex, Chance The Rapper and Moses Sumney previously take on the original for an incredible remix, and now Big Wild has put his mystical touch on the track. Big Wild’s version builds new production from the ground up earning itself a release as an original track opposed to a remix as his organic instrumentation blends perfectly with the laid-back production we’ve come to know him for. Enjoy!

Big Wild - Show Me (Ft. Hundred Waters)

Big Wild Tour Dates:

 

Fri, Oct 13 – Austin, TX – Austin City Limits (Festival)

Sat, Oct 14 – Dallas, TX – Boo! Dallas (Festival)

Sun, Oct 15 – Santa Barbara, CA – Santa Barbara Bowl w/GRiZ

Fri, Oct 20 – Vancouver, BC – PNE Forum w/GRiZ

Sat, Oct 21 – Monterrey, MX – Live Out Festival

Thu, Oct 26 – Columbia, MO – The Blue Note w/Big Gigantic

Fri, Oct 27-29 – Suwannee, FL – Suwannee Hulaween (Festival)

Sat, Oct 28 – St. Paul, MN – Myth w/Big Gigantic

Fri, Nov 3 – Worcester, MA – The Palladium w/GRiZ

Sat, Nov 4 – Washington, DC – Anthem w/GRiZ

Sat, Dec 30 – Phoenix, AZ – Decadence (Festival)

Sun, Dec 31 – New York, NY – Terminal 5 w/Gramatik

Sat, Jan 6 – Jan 10, 2018 – Holy Ship! (Festival)

 

Winter 2018 Tour

Thu, Jan 25-28 – Tucson, AZ – Gem & Jam Festival

Tue, Jan 30 – Bellingham, WA – Wild Buffalo

Thu, Feb 1 – Spokane, WA – Knitting Factory

Fri, Feb 2 – Boise, ID – Knitting Factory

Sat, Feb 3 – Jackson, WY – Pink Garter Theatre

Tue, Feb 6 – Park City, UT – Park City Live

Thu, Feb 8 – Aspen, CO – Belly Up

Fri, Feb 9 – Boulder, CO – Fox Theatre

Sat, Feb 10 – Omaha, NE – The Waiting Room

Sun, Feb 11 – Kansas City, MO – The Record Bar

Thu, Feb 15 – St. Louis, MO – Delmar Hall

Fri, Feb 16 – Milwaukee, WI – Miramar Theatre

Sat, Feb 17 – Urbana, IL – Canopy Club

Sun, Feb 18 – Bloomington, IN – Bluebird Nightclub

Wed, Feb 21 – Columbus, OH – Skully’s

Thu, Feb 22 – Pittsburgh, PA – Rex Theater

Fri, Feb 23 – Toronto, ON – Velvet Underground

Sat, Feb 24 – Montreal, QC – Belmont

Wed, Feb 28 – Syracuse, NY – Westcott Theater

Thu, Mar 1 – Burlington, VT – Higher Ground

Fri, Mar 2 – Portland, ME – Port City Music Hall

Sat, Mar 3 – Northampton, MA – Pearl Street

Big Wild Shares Refreshing New 5-Track 'Invincible' EP

Big Wild Artwork Invincible EP

Big Wild’s debut EP Invincible is here! The five-track project was released via ODESZA’s Foreign Family Collective and we got a chance to speak with him about the release below. 

The project includes past singles "Invincible", "I Just Wanna" and "Empty Room" featuring Yuna, which we premiered earlier this week. Big Wild captures an uplifting vibe throughout the project with catchy melodies, lush sound design, and infectious percussive elements. We’ve been looking forward to this release and are excited the full project is here. Check out our interview below and enjoy! 

Big Wild - Invincible EP | Purchase

What instruments did you play prior to producing?

I played trumpet, but it wasn't until I started producing and writing songs that I really connected with music.

How did your relationship with ODESZA and their Foreign Family Collective start?

They initially heard my music on SoundCloud and from there they asked me to do an official remix for Say My Name. I opened up for them for three shows in California and then they asked me to go on tour with them early the next year. During that tour, ODESZA was just starting FFC and I showed them Aftergold as a potential single to release. It was a big break for me.

Has your relationship with ODESZA helped shape you as an artist?

ODESZA has definitely given me good advice and support on how to represent myself as an artist. That's super important and they have a great eye for that.

Your music seems to capture a unique sound with percussion elements that are non-traditional. Where do you find inspiration to explore and experiment with your sound?

It really comes down to listening to all different types of music, having an open ear, and stepping outside your comfort zone. This allows you to make connections between styles and sounds that you wouldn't otherwise have made.

What is the story and meaning behind your “Invincible” EP?

Invincible EP is a culmination of many things. I wanted to begin working more closely with vocalists and put my own ideas for vocal melodies and lyrics to the test. I really wanted to get more involved with songwriting. Having a generally positive and uplifting theme throughout the project was important to me as well. The Invincible EP is an important artistic step for me and putting it together was a huge learning process.

Is there a particular song on the EP that you enjoying making the most?

Crickets might have been my favorite to create simply because it was the quickest. All of the songs on this project except for that one went through a ton of renditions for months but Crickets was very straight forward. I love it when things click quickly.

Can you tell us a bit about your live setup and how it came together?

My live setup consists of a hybrid drumset, a cajon, a MIDI controller, a keyboard and me whistling. It came together because I wanted to have live elements while also keeping things electronic and dance focused. Combining elements of performance with production is what I focused on to create my setup. I also have a few surprises for the Invincible tour this spring ;)

What’s been the most exciting thing about your Big Wild project so far and what’s coming next?

This EP is the most exciting thing so far for me. It's a big milestone and I'm so stoked to put this music out. I also have plans to keep the music coming throughout the year. The Invincible Tour is next and that's something I've put a lot of time and effort into. It's definitely a step up from the last tour.

[PREMIERE] Big Wild Delivers "Empty Room" Ft. Yuna Off Debut EP + Interview

Big Wild Invincible EP Press Shot

With Big Wild’s debut project Invincible EP right around the corner, we now have the premiere of "Empty Room" feat. Malaysian vocalist Yuna. Leading up to the EP, he’s shared singles "I Just Wanna” and the title track “Invincible”, which was accompanied by an epic music video.

His latest single has an uplifting energy throughout as he combines shuffling percussion with mellow keyboard melodies, glitchy vocal chops and gentle distorted horn bursts. To celebrate Big Wild's upcoming debut EP, we’ve asked him a few questions about the release and his Big Wild project as a whole. You can also view his EP tracklist and tour dates below. Enjoy! 

Big Wild - Empty Room (Ft. Yuna) | Purchase + Preorder EP

What instruments did you play prior to producing?

I played trumpet, but it wasn't until I started producing and writing songs that I really connected with music.

How did your relationship with ODESZA and their Foreign Family Collective start?

They initially heard my music on SoundCloud and from there they asked me to do an official remix for Say My Name. I opened up for them for three shows in California and then they asked me to go on tour with them early the next year. During that tour, ODESZA was just starting FFC and I showed them Aftergold as a potential single to release. It was a big break for me.

Has your relationship with ODESZA helped shape you as an artist?

ODESZA has definitely given me good advice and support on how to represent myself as an artist. That's super important and they have a great eye for that.

Your music seems to capture a unique sound with percussion elements that are non-traditional. Where do you find inspiration to explore and experiment with your sound?

It really comes down to listening to all different types of music, having an open ear, and stepping outside your comfort zone. This allows you to make connections between styles and sounds that you wouldn't otherwise have made.

What is the story and meaning behind your “Invincible” EP?

Invincible EP is a culmination of many things. I wanted to begin working more closely with vocalists and put my own ideas for vocal melodies and lyrics to the test. I really wanted to get more involved with songwriting. Having a generally positive and uplifting theme throughout the project was important to me as well. The Invincible EP is an important artistic step for me and putting it together was a huge learning process.

Is there a particular song on the EP that you enjoying making the most?

Crickets might have been my favorite to create simply because it was the quickest. All of the songs on this project except for that one went through a ton of renditions for months but Crickets was very straight forward. I love it when things click quickly.

Can you tell us a bit about your live setup and how it came together?

My live setup consists of a hybrid drumset, a cajon, a MIDI controller, a keyboard and me whistling. It came together because I wanted to have live elements while also keeping things electronic and dance focused. Combining elements of performance with production is what I focused on to create my setup. I also have a few surprises for the Invincible tour this spring ;)

What’s been the most exciting thing about your Big Wild project so far and what’s coming next?

This EP is the most exciting thing so far for me. It's a big milestone and I'm so stoked to put this music out. I also have plans to keep the music coming throughout the year. The Invincible Tour is next and that's something I've put a lot of time and effort into. It's definitely a step up from the last tour.

 

Invincible EP tracklist:
1) When I Get There 
2) Empty Room (feat. Yuna)
3) I Just Wanna
4) Invincible (feat. iDA HAWK)
5) Crickets 

 

Big Wild Tour Dates: (Purchase tickets here)
Fri. March 10 – Sat. March 11 – New Orleans, LA @ Buku (Festival)
Thu. March 16 – Vancouver, BC @ VENUE
Fri. March 17 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Sat. March 18 – Seattle, WA @ The Showbox
Sun. March 19 – Eugene, OR @ W.O.W. Hall
Fri. March 24 – San Francisco, CA @ Regency Ballroom
Sat. March 25 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre
Sun. March 26- San Diego @ Quartyard
Wed. March 29 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory
Fri. March 31 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Sat. April 1 – Englewood, CO @ Gothic Theatre
Wed. April 5 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Café
Thu. April 6 – Madison WI @ Majestic Theatre
Fri. April 7 – Chicago, IL @ Concord Music Hall
Sat. April 8 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
Sun. April 9 – Grand Rapids, MI @ The Pyramid Scheme
Wed. April 12 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Foundry
Thu. April 13 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair
Sat. April 15 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Thu. April 20 – Washington, D.C. @ U Street Music Hall
Fri. April 21 – Asheville, NC @ The Orange Peel
Sat. April 22 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West
Wed. April 26 – Tuscaloosa, AL @ Druid City Music Hall
Thu. April 27 – Tallahassee, FL @ Club Downunder
Fri. April 28 – Orlando, FL @ The Social
Sat. April 29 – Tampa, FL @ Crowbar
Tue. May 2 – Oxford, MS @ Proud Larry’s
Wed. May 3 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In
Thu. May 4 – Fayetteville, AR @ George’s Majestic Lounge
Fri. May 5 – Sun. May 7 – Todd Mission, TX @ Middlelands (Festival)
Wed. May 24 - Mon. May 29 Lightning in a Bottle Festival
Thu June 15 - Sun June 18 - Firefly Music Festival
Thu. June 22 – Sun. June 25 – Rothbury, MI @ Electric Forest Festival
Fri. June 23 - Sun. June 25 - Bonzana Campout
Thu. June 29 – Sun. July 2 – Rothbury, MI @ Electric Forest Festival

Who We Are

ThisSongIsSick.com is all about making it easier for you to discover sick new music that you've never heard before. We work with musicians and record labels from all over the world to showcase a variety of the freshest electronic, hip-hop, indie, and alternative music to a global following that is comprised of millions of music lovers in over 110 countries. So, make yourself at home while enjoying countless amazing musicians from a variety of genres and let the sick sounds fill your ears! Read more about our new site.



Just the Tip

Get tipped off of exclusive news, premieres, free downloads and exclusive show announcements (only the good shit)

or


Submit a Song

Want to get your song on TSIS? Click the button below and follow the instructions in the form


Popular This Week



Follow Us