Damon Albarn

Mura Masa Links With Gorillaz Creator Damon Albarn For New Album Single “Blu”

Mura Masa Damon Albarn

Mura Masa must be feeling quite generous lately. Only a few weeks ago he dropped two new singles via free download and today has shared yet another single off of his upcoming self titled debut album. Following up on his previous releases featuring Charli XCX and Desiigner, Mura Masa has teamed up with Gorillaz frontman Damon Albarn for a new song titled, “Blu”.

Mura Masa slows things down for this latest offering. Starting off with a wonky organ and an gentle clap, the UK producer keeps things simple, blending a delicate harp arpeggiation with Damon Albarn's robotic-sounding voice. Slow-rolling acoustic percussion, a booming 808 and some bizarre high-pitched noises (that almost sound like a record scratch) add an incredibly effective level of weirdness to the track before it winds down into a 45-second outro of ambient street noise. Keep an eye out for Mura Masa’s self-titled debut album due July 14 and listen to his new single “Blu” below. Enjoy!

Mura Masa - Blu (Ft. Damon Albarn)

Gorillaz's Damon Albarn Is Finishing 40+ Tracks That Didn't Make The 'Humanz' Album


Gorillaz's highly anticipated Humanz album is expected to arrive on April 28 and is comprised of 19 full songs, but there's a lot more where that came from apparently. In a recent interview with Zane Lowe on Beats 1, Gorillaz's member Damon Albarn says there's about 18 months of material that didn't make the album, adding that 40 or 45 tracks that didn't make the final cut and are being finished.

We've already heard a handful of songs off the LP like "Hallelujah Money", "Andromeda", "We Got The Power" and more, but we can only imagine what their huge batch of unreleased music sounds like. Later today, Zane Lowe will be premiering Gorillaz's track "Let Me Go" with Pusha T and Mavis Staples. Stay tuned for that, and in the meantime listen to the audio clip below of Albarn speaking with Zane about the album. Enjoy! 

H/T: Mixmag

Gorillaz Announce ‘Humanz’ Album & 4 New Songs: "Saturnz Barz", "Andromeda", "We Got The Power" & "Ascension"

Gorillaz New album press shot

Back in January, Gorillaz broke their six-year musical silence with "Hallelujah Money" feat. UK singer-songwriter Benjamin Clementine. Since then, the group has announced their own Demon Dayz festival and reportedly finished their album and have begun live rehearsals for what we assume is a full tour.

Well the band has now announced their much anticipated album, Humanz, and have just revealed four brand new singles off the project: "Saturnz Barz" feat. Popcaan, "Andromeda" feat. D.R.A.M., "We Got The Power" feat. Jehnny Beth and "Ascension" feat. Vince Staples. So far, the leaked tracklist we reported the other day is now 5 for 5. 

"Saturnz Barz" actually comes with two different music video versions building on the backstory of Gorillaz continuing their iconic collection of music videos. One is a standard music video while the other is a 360 degree video you can drag the mouse around for a virtual reality experience. Both videos are below.

All four tracks are available to stream below, in addition to BBC Radio 1 host MistaJam's interview with Gorillaz mastermind Damon Albarn about the album and the making of it. Check out the tracklist as well and enjoy!

Gorillaz - Saturnz Barz (Spirit House) (Ft. Popcaan) | Virtual Reality Music Video

Gorillaz - Saturnz Barz (Spirit House) (Ft. Popcaan) | Official Music Video

Gorillaz - Andromeda | Stream Only

Gorillaz - Ascension Ft. Vince Staples | Stream Only

Gorillaz - We Got The Power (Ft. Jehnny Beth) | Stream Only 

Gorillaz interview on BBC Radio 1

Humanz Disc 1 Tracklist:

  1. Intro: I Switched My Robot Off
  2. Ascension (feat. Vince Staples)
  3. Strobelite (feat. Peven Everett)
  4. Saturnz Barz (feat. Popcaan)
  5. Momentz (feat. De La Soul)
  6. Interlude: The Non-conformist Oath
  7. Submission (feat. Danny Brown & Kelela)
  8. Charger (feat. Grace Jones)
  9. Interlude: Elevator Going Up
  10. Andromeda (feat. D.R.A.M.)
  11. Busted and Blue
  12. Interlude: Talk Radio
  13. Carnival (feat. Anthony Hamilton)
  14. Let Me Out (feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T)
  15. Interlude: Penthouse
  16. Sex Murder Party (feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz)
  17. She's My Collar (feat. Kali Uchis)
  18. Interlude: The Elephant
  19. Halleujah Money (feat. Benjamin Clementine)
  20. We Got The Power (feat. Jehnny Beth)

Humanz Disc 2 Tracklist:

  1. Interlude: New World
  2. The Apprentice (feat. Rag'n'Bone Man, Zebra Katz & RAY BLK)
  3. Halfway To The Halfway House (feat. Peven Everett)
  4. Out Of Body (feat Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz & Imani Vonsha)
  5. Ticker Tape (feat. Carly Simon & Kali Uchis)
  6. Circle Of Friendz (feat. Brandon Markell Holmes)


Who We Are

ThisSongIsSick.com is all about making it easier for you to discover sick new music that you've never heard before. We work with musicians and record labels from all over the world to showcase a variety of the freshest electronic, hip-hop, indie, and alternative music to a global following that is comprised of millions of music lovers in over 110 countries. So, make yourself at home while enjoying countless amazing musicians from a variety of genres and let the sick sounds fill your ears! Read more about our new site.

Just the Tip

Get tipped off of exclusive news, premieres, free downloads and exclusive show announcements (only the good shit)


Submit a Song

Want to get your song on TSIS? Click the button below and follow the instructions in the form

Popular This Week

Follow Us