Illenium Drops Emotive Single “Leaving” From Forthcoming Album ‘AWAKE’


The time has almost come for Illenium’s long-awaited sophomore album, AWAKE, to drop on Sept. 21. The young producer has kept anticipation for the project ridiculously high throughout most of the year, dropping various electrifying singles with a number of collaborators. This stream of releases began all the way back in February with “Fractures,” with “Feel Good,” “Sound of Walking Away” and “Crawl Outta Love” following on a fairly consistent basis. Today Illenium shared track seven from the album, “Leaving,” an emotional piece that definitely meets the expectations the first four singles have set over the past few months. 

Illenium utilizes a slow, powerful build with this single, letting somber piano keys, the subdued sound of children playing and a faraway voicemail vocal sample take the forefront. Uncredited vocals (that many are speculating belong to Irish artist EDEN) step in from there, coupling well with the rising energy of the production. The drop is both emotional and brimming with intensity, something Illenium does well each and every time.

AWAKE was already stacking up to be one of our favorite albums this year, and after this single we can’t wait to see what the rest of the project holds. Check out “Leaving” and the album’s tracklist below. Enjoy!

Illenium – Leaving

AWAKE tracklist:

1) Needed You (ft. Dia Frampton) 
2) Crawl Outta Love (ft. Annika Wells)
3) No Time Like Now
4) Free Fall (ft. RUNN)
5) Illenium & Said The Sky – Where’d U Go
6) Fractures (ft. Nevve) 
7) Leaving 
8) Lost (ft. Emilie Brandt)
9) Illenium & Kerli – Sound of Walking Away
10) Taking Me Higher
11) Gryffin & Illenium – Feel Good (ft. Daya)
12) Beautiful Creatures (ft. MAX)
13) Let You Go (ft. Ember Island)