Stream & Download Bonobo’s Impressive Sixth Album ‘Migration’


Bonobo’s highly-anticipated sixth studio album Migration is here and it's his most ambitious body of work to date. The project's momentum has built overtime with his previously-released singles, "Kerala", "Break Apart" feat. Rhye and "No Reason" feat. Nick Murphy (Chet Faker), which we loved.

The LP's title is a reference to him working on much of this album on the road while touring where he'd take influences from the diverse set of collaborators and his travels. Migration blends several musical styles from many parts of the world into one cohesive piece. Not only did Simon Green (Bonobo) spend time everywhere from the wilderness to the mountains to the desert to gain inspiration, he also included samples recorded from around the world. This includes  "an elevator in Hong Kong airport, rain in Seattle, a tumble dryer in Atlanta and a fan boat engine in New Orleans into his intricate sonics,” according to his press release.

Bonobo blends just about every type of music on this incredibly diverse LP. He also shows his expert ability to build lush soundscapes and textures atop one another from start to finish. Migration taps all sorts of moods that would be enjoyable chilling on the couch or in a DJ set.

The collaborators bring a unique quality to the release as well. Nick Murphy and Rhye deliver soulful appearances while Hundred Waters’ vocalist Nicole Miglis brings a distinct indie sound to "Surface". Innov Gnawa gives off a worldly vibe with his tribal chanting vocals on "Bambro Koyo". Bonobo masterfully blends atmospheric sound designs with house tempos, as well as layers of live instrumentation that are combined with electronic production. 

It's always impressive to see artists continually evolve and expand their talents throughout their career. We're excited to join Bonobo for the journey as he releases some of his strongest work to date with Migration. Enjoy!

Bonobo – Migration | iTunes