Red Hot Chili Peppers’ John Frusciante Announces New Solo Electronic Album, Shares First Single

||, |

The beloved guitarist of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, John Frusciante (who recently returned to the group), has announced his new solo album. The new album, titled Maya in dedication to his late cat, will be focused on his electronic productions. Frusciante had previously released solo electronic work under the alias Trickfinger, but this will be the first he releases under his own name. Maya is set for a release date of October 23.

In regards to the change in his alias usage, this is what John said in a statement:

Maya was with me as I made music for 15 years, so I wanted to name it after her. She loved music, and with such a personal title, it didn’t seem right to call myself Trickfinger, somehow, so it’s by John Frusciante.

He’s just released first single from Maya, a distortion-drenched experimental cut titled “Amethblowl.” You can find the full tracklist below, as well as a stream to the first single. Enjoy!

John Frusciante – Amethblowl

1. Brand E
2. Usbrup Pensul
3. Flying
4. Pleasure Explanation
5. Blind Aim
6. Reach Out
7. Amethblowl
8. Zillion
9. Anja Motherless