What So Not Drops New 11-Track Album ‘Anomaly’

|||, ,

What So Not has been a producer who has consistently captivated us with his unique style of electronic music. Emerging from the booming trap scene in the early 2010s, he’s evolved his sound into something beyond the label (similarly to that of RL Grime, Baauer). Now, he does essentially whatever he wants, orbiting around the intersection of bass music, hip-hop, and pop.

Today marks the release of his third album, Anomaly, which sees the Aussie reaching a bit further into the pop realm while still strengthening his powerful production prowess. We’re hearing more vocals on this body of work than ever before, but the cutting-edge of his sound is only getting sharper. He’s made great use of the space created by his boundless sonic ambitions on this project.

Or favorite tracks, however, are the ones without any features. “Black Shallow,” with Enschway, fills the void with an amazing synth lead and warm sound design, while the title track with AY AY does the same. The vocal performances are solid throughout Anomaly, but we’re most happy when WSN production takes center stage.

You can listen to What So Not’s new album below. Enjoy!

What So Not – Anomaly