Gorillaz Drop Dark New Collab With The Cure, “Strange Timez,” Announce ‘Song Machine’ Release Date

||, |

We couldn’t wait to hear what this one sounded like when it was announced on Monday. Damon Albarn’s Gorillaz and Robert Smith of The Cure have teamed up to give us a striking new collab titled “Strange Timez.” This comes as episode six of the new Gorillaz project Song Machine, where they have linked up with a handful of different artists for each new track, such as ScHoolboy Q, slowthai, and more.

While most of songs from Song Machine have been hip-hop collabs, “Strange Timez” takes the project in a fresh new direction. Robert Smith’s voice is a perfect matchup with Gorillaz, who tap into some dreamy synth work for this tune. It’s wild to see such two legendary artists collaborating with each other, and we can confirm that this one lives up to the hype.

During the premiere of the track, Gorillaz also revealed the full tracklist of what they’re now calling Song MachineSeason 1 – Strange Timez. The project, which they aren’t exactly calling an album, will be fully out on October 23. Check out the tracklist (which features Beck, Elton John, & more), and “Strange Timez” below. enjoy!

Gorillaz – Strange Timez (feat. Robert Smith)

Song Machine: Season 1 – Strange TImez (Deluxe) Tracklist

1. Strange Timez (feat. Robert Smith)
2. The Valley of The Pagans (feat. Beck)
3. The Lost Chord (feat. Leee John)
4. Pac-Man (feat. ScHoolboy Q)
5. Chalk Tablet Towers (feat. St Vincent)
6. The Pink Phantom (feat. Elton John and 6LACK)
7. Aries (feat. Peter Hook and Georgia)
8. Friday 13th (feat. Octavian)
9. Dead Butterflies (feat. Kano and Roxani Arias)
10. Désolé (feat. Fatoumata Diawara) (Extended Version)
11. Momentary Bliss (feat. slowthai and Slaves)
12. Opium (feat. EARTHGANG)
13. Simplicity (feat. Joan As Police Woman)
14. Severed Head (feat. Goldlink and Unknown Mortal Orchestra)
15. With Love To An Ex (feat. Moonchild Sanelly)
16. MLS (feat. JPEGMAFIA and CHAI)
17. How Far? (feat. Tony Allen and Skepta)